Dauntless Fortune & Glory Update Adds Trials and New Season

Posted by | News, PC, PlayStation 4, Xbox One | No Comments

Dauntless, the free-to-play Monster Hunter-like, is getting its first major content update, called Fortune & Glory, next week on July 16. The update will add Trials as a new high-challenge gameplay mode, as well as ushering in the next season with an all new Hunt Pass of unlockable goodies.

If you can’t already tell by the name, Fortune & Glory adds a swashbuckling pirate theme, beginning with the arrival of the pirate queen Lady Luck. Lady Luck has brought an entire island to the edge of the city Ramsgate. The island is home to the new Trials gameplay mode. Trials will feature stronger, modified behemoths with unique environmental challenges and a ticking clock.

Trials are split between Normal and Dauntless. Completing normal trials rewards Steel Marks, which can be used to purchase unique rewards added in the Fortune & Glory update, such as alternate weapon attacks. Dauntless trials reward Gilded Marks which can be redeemed for even greater cosmetic rewards. These rewards can only be earned through completing trials.

Trials also feature their own leaderboard on the Wall of Champions near Lady Luck’s new shop. Trials rotate every week, giving slayers a chance to get their name emblazoned on the wall.

The Fortune & Glory update also starts the next Hunt Season, called High Skies. High Skies features two consecutive 50-item Hunt Passes. The first bears the same name as the event itself, and is tied to Lady Luck. The second Hunt Pass is called Zephyr Strike and will start sometime in August. Elite Hunt Passes cost 1,000 platinum to purchase, and include 50 unlockable cosmetic items to progress through (think Fortnite’s Battle Passes).

Dauntless is available on PC (Epic Games Store), PlayStation 4, and Xbox One, and features cross platform play and progression. It’s rated T for Teen.


Earn Rewards Every Day in Fortnite’s 14 Days of Summer

Posted by | Mobile, News, PC, PlayStation 4, Switch, Xbox One | No Comments

Today kicks off the 14 Days of Summer event for Fortnite Battle Royale. Each day will offer a chance at earning a reward by completing a daily challenge, as well as playing with a daily unlocked weapon and a new Limited Time Mode.

Each of day for the next two weeks will include:

  • A weapon unvaulted for that day only.
  • A daily challenge and free reward.
  • New outfits and more in the Item Shop.
  • A new Limited Time Mode (see below).

Fourteen new LTMs will cycle throughout the event. LTMs include Heavy Metal Squads (heavy weapons only), Splashdown Squads (water balloon fight), Wick’s Bounty Duos (eliminate players to earn coins), and Builder’s Paradise Squads (increase structure health and resource gather rate).

Full details of each Limited Time Mode can be found here, though Epic isn’t revealing their exact order.

The co-op Save the World mode of Fortnite won’t be left out either. In Save the World, players can complete a daily quest each day to earn free items in the store and collect Summer Tickets. If you can collect all 14 tickets you’ll unlock a new explosive weapon.

Creative Mode fans will also see a new featured island each day of the event as well.

The Fortnite 14 Days of Summer event lasts through July 7. Fortnite is available on PC (Epic Games Store), PlayStation 4, Switch, Xbox One, and mobile devices.