The 41st annual Golden Joystick Awards Powered by Intel took place live in London over the weekend. Baldur’s Gate 3 was the big winner of the night, earning seven total awards, including Ultimate Game of the Year.

The next winningest game was Cyberpunk 2077: Phantom Liberty, a big expansion to 2020’s divisive RPG, which won two awards.

Baldur’s Gate 3, the massive RPG by Larian Studios, won the following awards:

  • Ultimate Game of the Year
  • Best Storytelling
  • Best Visual Design
  • Studio of the Year
  • Best Game Community
  • Best Supporting Performer (Neil Newborn, Astarion)
  • PC Game of the Year

Cyberpunk 2077: Phantom Liberty won Best Game Expansion and Best Game Trailer.

Other winners include The Legend of Zelda: Tears of the Kingdom (Nintendo Game of the Year), No Man’s Sky (Still Playing Award), Sea of Stars (Best Indie Game), and Ben Starr for portraying Clive Rosfield in Final Fantasy 16 (Best Performer).

The Golden Joystick Awards are voted by the public. Over 115 games were represented in 20 categories. Voting was apparently up by over 50% compared to last year.

Critics only judge two awards: Critics’ Choice and Breakthrough Award. This year Critics’ Choice went to Alan Wake 2, and the Breakthrough Award to Cocoon.

The Golden Joystick Awards are hosted by Future, which also owns Gamesradar.

Given its continued popularity and endless adulation among fans and critics, we fully expect Baldur’s Gate 3 to continue winning big during this year’s The Game Awards, which is set to stream live on December 7.

This article was written by

Eric has been writing for over nine years with bylines at Dicebreaker, Pixelkin, Polygon, PC Gamer, Tabletop Gaming magazine, and more covering movies, TV shows, video games, tabletop games, and tech. He reviews and live streams D&D adventures every week on his YouTube channel. He also makes a mean tuna quesadilla.