Microsoft kicked off its E3 2017 press conference by revealing its new console, the Xbox One X (formerly Project Scorpio). It’s launching on November 7 for $499.

The Xbox One X represents the most powerful console ever created, according to Phil Spencer, Head of Xbox. Here is a breakdown of the stats:

  • 6 teraflop GPU clocked at 1.172 Ghz
  • 12 GB GDDR 5 Memory
  • 326 GB/sec Memory Bandwith

For comparison, Sony’s equivalent 4k console, the PS4 Pro, handles 4.12 teraflops.

Like the PS4 Pro (and Xbox One S) the Xbox One X does not reflect a new generation of consoles. We’re in an age of half-step upgrades that take advantage of new 4K resolution-capable games and TVs. The Xbox One X is capable of true 4k resolution with over 8 million pixels, HDR lighting, Wide Color Gamut, and Premium Dolby Atmosphere. It also supports 4k UHD Blue-Ray.

Since the Xbox One X is designed as an upgrade, it will fully support all existing Xbox One games and accessories. Existing games will benefit from faster load times, anistropic filtering, and improved 1080p output even if you down’t have a 4k TV. Future Xbox One titles will take advantage of the Xbox One X 4k resolution.

The Xbox One X is the most powerful console on the market, though it still doesn’t approach high-end PC gaming. Nvidia’s latest card, the 1080 TI, cranks out nearly double the teraflops as the Xbox One X (and costs about $600).

The Xbox One X is coming November 7 for $499.


This article was written by

Eric has been writing for over eight years with bylines in Dicebreaker, Pixelkin, Polygon, PC Gamer and Tabletop Gaming magazine, covering movies, TV shows, video games, tabletop games and tech. He reviews and live streams D&D adventures every week on YouTube. He also makes a mean tuna quesadilla.