Star Wars Battlefront, a reboot of the older Battlefront games, will feature many multiplayer modes and some of them look pretty cool. News on the modes has been trickling out via the game’s official website. Here’s the scoop on each mode.

star wars battlefront

Drop Zone

Similar to king-of-the-hill-style games, Drop Zone has two teams of eight battling each other to claim drop pods that rain down upon a planet’s surface. It’s pretty straightforward, though there is an interesting feature: If the teams are battling it out over a specific pod and it keeps changing possession, a new pod will be dropped to help end the stalemate. In addition, after the match is over, the pods owned by each team will open and dole out some goodies. If you’re not happy with what you got you can try to find another pod to open.

star wars battlefront


Somewhat similar to Drop Zone, Supremacy tasks players with finding and defending control points. This mode is designed to be very fast-paced with little room to hide. Supremacy will also feature all the vehicles in the game, as well as iconic characters like Darth Vader.

“Supremacy is a game mode that will excite fans of the Conquest mode from Battlefield. That said, we’ve made several tweaks to improve the formula. You will always spawn close to the action when you enter Supremacy, so you’ll never feel isolated from the fight. By focusing on one key point at a time, players not playing the objective and camping on a hill somewhere will be a rare sight,” said Lead Level Designer Dennis Brännvall in a news post about the game.

star wars battlefront

Fighter Squadron Mode

As you can probably guess from its title, Fighter Squadron Mode puts you in the cockpit of X-Wings, A-Wings, TIE Fighters, and TIE Interceptors. Then you battle it out with up to 19 other players split into two teams. The objective is to kill more of the other team than they can kill of yours. There are power-ups scattered throughout the map and if you happen to get a special one, you could find yourself temporarily flying the Millennium Falcon or Slave-1 (Boba Fett’s Ship).

star wars battlefront

Blast Mode

Blast Mode is a straight-forward team death-match mode. One of the great things about this mode is the iconic locations you’ll be playing in. “One battle you’ll be fighting within interior levels on Endor or Sullust. In the next battle, you might find yourselves among Tatooine’s dusty canyons, or inside the undeniably cool Ice Caves on Hoth. My favorite is the verticality of Tatooine, fighting by the Sandcrawler,” said Brännvall.

star wars battlefront

Walker Assault

This mode is based on classic scene from Empire Strikes Back when Luke takes down a giant walker by wrapping it in a cord, forcing it to tumble over. Players are trying to do something similar in Walker Assault. If you’re playing as a Rebel, you need to find uplink stations to call down Y-Wing bombers to help in the battle. If you’re on the imperial side, you’ll be fighting on the ground as an escort and defender of the massive vehicle.

Star Wars Battlefront is scheduled to be released this November.

This article was written by

Nicole has been playing games her entire life. Now that she's a mom, she's passionate about promoting games as a healthy pastime to other parents around the globe. She has been an editor at IGN, where she launched and hosted the Girlfight podcast. In her spare time (which is not very much, honestly) she enjoys gaming, reading, and writing fiction. Most of the time she’s a mom to a crazy, intelligent, and exhausting little girl.