ESRB Ratings Explained

Rating Categories

Rating Categories give you basic guidance by telling you a game’s age-appropriateness. Rating categories are similar to—but not quite the same as—movie ratings.

Early Childhood

Early Childhood (EC)

Ages 3 and older
Contains no material that parents would find inappropriate

E for Everyone

Everyone (E)

Ages 6 and older
May contain minimal cartoon, fantasy, or mild violence and/or infrequent use of mild language


Everyone 10 and Up (E10+)

Ages 10 and older
May contain more cartoon, fantasy, or mild violence and/or minimal suggestive themes.

T for Teen

Teen (T)

Ages 13 and older
May contain violence, suggestive themes, crude humor, minimal blood, similated gambling and/or infrequent use of strong language.

M for Mature

Mature (M)

Ages 17 and older
May contain intense violence, blood and gore, sexual content and/or strong language


Adults Only (AO)

Ages 18 and older
May include prolonged scenes of intense violence and/or graphic sexual content and nudity.

Content Descriptors

 Content Descriptors are special phrases which reveal something about the game that parents ought to know.

Content Descriptors

Interactive Elements

Interactive Elements describe ways in which a game may share a player’s information or allow players to talk to strangers online.

Shares Info

Shares Location

Users Interact

Further Reading